Four pieces, four composers & four pianos from Melnikov

Four Pieces – Four Pianos

Alexander Melnikov (various pianos)

This is a very interesting release from Alexander Melnikov. He presents four works from four different eras and performs them on four different pianos! Each piece, with one exception, is played on a piano from the respective period.

We have Schubert’s Fantasie in C major, D760 ‘Wanderer’ played on a Graff fortepiano, Chopin’s 12 Études, Op. 10 played on an Érard piano, Liszt’s Réminiscences de “Don Juan” (after Mozart), S. 418 on a Bösendorfer piano, Vienna ca. 1875 and finally Stravinsky’s Three Movements from Petrushka played on a contemporary Steinway piano.

All four are technically demanding works and Melnikov plays them all with apparent ease.

Pianophiles may find this a most fascinating release.

iClassical rating: 

Stream on Spotify or buy from Presto Classical.